Name Term of office

Chair of Governors

Mrs Hayley Aris (Parent Governor)

19/02/22 - 18/02/26
  Mr David Blacker 01/09/19 - 31/08/23
  Mr Gary Hope 19/03/22 - 18/03/26
  Miss Lauren Blackburn 24/01/23 - 23/01/27
  Mrs Joanne Hirst 16/11/20 - 15/11/24
  Mrs Louisa Dawson 24/08/21 - 23/08/25
  Mrs Sarah Smith 16/02/23 - 15/02/27
Parent Governor vacancy  
Staff Governor Mrs Nadine Galloway  
  Mrs Julianne Shearman 20/01/20 - 19/01/24
  Revd. Andy Dykes (St John's Church)  
Retired Governor Mrs Sandra Hall (Head teacher & Staff Governor) 01/09/09 - 31/12/18
  Mr Antony Birdsall (Foundation Governor) 13/12/18 - 24/08/20
  Miss Adele Johnston (Staff Governor) 20/11/17 - 03/02/20
  Mrs D Molyneux (Parent Governor) 06/10/16 - 05/10/20
  Mrs Julie Ward (Foundation Governor) 05/06/17 - 04/06/21
  Mr Colin Malone 01/09/18 - 31/08/22
  Mrs Gill Ward (Associate Governor no voting rights) 17/11/20 - 17/05/22
  Mrs Fran Wolton 01/12/20 - 30/11/24
  Mrs Karen Blackburn 01/09/19 - 31/08/23
Clerk to Governor Ms Danielle Bowater (Full Governing Board meetings)  

Our Chair of Governors is Mrs. Hayley Aris and she can be contacted either by email at or by writing to her at the school address - St John's CE Primary School, Church Street, Blackpool FY1 3NX

Our vision statement is simply...

“Everyone Matters in God's World”

and we all follow THE GOLDEN RULE "Do to others what you would have them do to you" (Matthew 7:12)


Please read our pen profiles below to find out a bit about us!


Staff Governor (teaching) - Julianne Shearman

I have lived in Blackpool for most of my life and have spent all my career teaching in local primary schools. I was lucky enough to secure a post at St. John’s Primary School in 2013 and I am currently the reception class teacher. My passion lies in the early year’s curriculum and making sure every child achieves their best as they take their first steps on their learning journey with us at St John’s

I chose to be a teacher governor to further develop my own understanding around the running of school and in turn be able to share my own knowledge and experience with other board members


LEA Governor - Dave Blacker (M.B.E.)

Dave was originally appointed by the Local Authority in January 2003 and has subsequently been re-appointed.  His experience as a retired employee from BAE Systems has come in useful in his role as Chair of our Resources Committee.  He is very committed to his work within the community and is therefore our Community Cohesion Governor. He was awarded an MBE by the Queen in 2008 for his 37 years service to the Blackpool Boys and Girls Club. Dave loves watching Blackpool FC, listening to the Rolling Stones and relaxing on long walks with his dog.


Parent Governor -  vacancy


Foundation Governor - Sarah Smith (appointed by PCC)

Pen portrait to follow


Foundation Governor - Gary Hope (appointed by Diocese)

At first Gary was a Parent Governor with one daughter at St John’s and when his term of office ended in 2013 he became an Associate Governor.  Luckily for St John’s a vacancy arose and he is now back on the Governing Board as a Foundation Governor.  He is Vice Chair of the Governing Board and Chair of the Curriculum and Standards Committee.  He is the nominated Governor for Standards and Achievement, and Attendance.  He is also our Link Training/Mentor Governor and as such liaises with the Local Authority to secure and promote training and mentor new Governors.


Foundation Governor -  Lauren Blackburn (appointed by the Diocese)

Lauren is one of our Foundation Governors.  As an ex-pupil of St John's she went on to study history at University and is now a Humanities teacher at a local secondary school.  Her interests are dog-walking, reading and keeping fit.  


Foundation Governor - Louisa Dawson (appointed by PCC)

I am a former pupil of St Johns school, attending when Mr Swift was headteacher. Both my children have attended, with my son currently in year 5. I am a Specialist Biomedical Scientist and have worked for the NHS for 21 years, the last 19 of these have been based at Blackpool Teaching Hospitals. I am very much looking forward to this new challenge and working with the governing team to support the school, staff and pupils. I am dedicated to giving back to a school who has supported me and my family over the years.


Staff Governor (Head Teacher) - Nadine Galloway

I have lived in Blackpool all my life apart from my years at University in Chester. I have had the pleasure of teaching in Blackpool schools for 30 years and I am currently Head teacher at St John’s CE Primary School, having been Deputy Head for 15 years. My passion is to ensure all children strive to reach above and beyond their full potential through skilled learning opportunities, provided by highest quality teaching.


Parent Governor - Hayley Aris

I am a parent governor and work in a Lancashire Primary School as a Key Stage Leader. I am passionate about helping and supporting young people achieve their best through education and having the very best opportunities for them to succeed. In November 2022 I was delighted to take on the role of Chair of Governors.


Foundation Governor -  Joanne Hirst (appointed by the Diocese)

Jo retired as the Headteacher of a large Blackpool primary school in August 2020 following a career in primary education spanning thirty seven years. She has had over thirty years experience as a governor in Blackpool schools. Jo currently works part-time as an Education Consultant for Blackpool Council's School Improvement Team and is passionate about making sure that Blackpool schools are supporting the town's children and their families in any way they can. She is very proud to be a Foundation Governors at St John's CE Primary School and is committed to helping ensure that the school continues to be the best it can be.

Governors Documents

© Copyright 2017–2024 St John's C of E Primary School

School & College Websites by Schudio